Facebook Housekeeping: 5 Things You Can Do Right Now

By . Filed in Web 2.0

We’ve previously written about the privacy settings you should know and adopt on Facebook, how to better manage your Facebook Wall Feeds, and how to keep hackers off your Facebook account. This post however is more towards Facebook Housekeeping.

Move your photos to other album

To be more precise, after being active on Facebook for months, or years, you are bound to have accummulated a mess in a few areas on your Facebook account that are hidden away from view. We are referring to friends lists, tagged locations, bloated photo albums, inactive groups or pages, and apps that have authorized access to our info (but have long forgotten about).

In this post, we’re going to look into how you can better organize these areas of your Facebook account. If you have more tips, do share them with us in the comments section.

1. Leave Inactive Groups And Pages

If you check your list of joined groups and pages, there are probably a few groups and pages that you have joined in the past that are no longer as active as before. If you can find no reason to stay, here’s how you can go about leaving these groups and pages.

Groups

In this page, you can see and opt out from any or all of your joined groups. Clicking on the settings button at the far right side of each group and choose Leave Group. Once you leave, you will not receive any more updates from the group in your News Feed.

Leave group

Pages

As for pages, there are two ways to do this. The first requires you to access this link – if you can’t, then skip ahead to the second method. If the link works, check out the pages that you have liked, click on Liked then choose Unlike from the drop down menu (see screenshot).

Unlike pages

The second way requires you to go to your Facebook Profile (click on your name to access your profile page) then Activity Log. You will have a list of all your Liked pages.

Go to Activity log

On the left sidebar, head to Likes > Pages and Interests.

Pages and Interests

Hover your mouse on any of the pages that you have liked. A preview of the page will pop up. Like in the first method, click on Liked and choose Unlike from the drop-down menu.

Unlike pages

2. Manage Your Friends List & Friend Request

If for some reason, you are have a huge friends list but would like to start filtering out the "noise", here is how you can remove "friends" from your list and manage your friends list properly.

Manage Friend List

Go to Profile > Friends. In this page, you can see all of the Facebook friends that you have added or approved previously. To unfriend someone that you have approved or added, just click on the Friends button on the right side of the person that you want to unfriend, and choose Unfriend.

Friend list

Pending Friend Requests

Friend requests that come in do not remove themselves if you ignore them. This means that when you click on that Friend Request icon (usually found next to the Messages icon), you will still see the full list of people who want to make it into your Friend’s List. These requests will stay there forever until you decide to take action.

You can choose Confirm, or choose Not now then Mark As Spam to avoid repeated friend requests from that particular person. For individuals who are suggested by your friends, you can choose to Add Friend or Ignore.

Friend Request

We have no advice on who you should add or not add to your friend’s list – you are on your own on that.

Filter Your News Feed contents

Say you are obligated to add some friends to your list but you couldn’t care less about their "what I am eating now" updates or their album after album of weekend activities, here’s how you can keep them as a friend without being subjected to the torture. Just Unfollow them to stop receiving their status updates.

To do that you can either go to their profile by hovering over their name, then unticking Following (to turn it into Follow). Or you could click on the down arrow button on their status update then choose Unfollow [friend’s name].

Unfollow friend

3. Organize Your Photos Into Proper Albums

If you upload photos regularly to your Facebook via mobile, your photos will always end up in the Timeline Photos album. Over time, that album will be saturated with all sorts of photos, producing an uncluttered mess.

Why not create a separate album according to their niche, locations, time or however you want to categorized them with? Just click on the Options on any photo that is uploaded by you, then choose Move To Other Album.

Move To Other Album

From here, you can choose to move the photo to an already created album or you can just create a new album for that photo.

Create Album

4. Remove Unused Authorized Apps

Do you know that every app that you have ever authorized access to, will retain their access even after you have long uninstalled the application? You have to manually revoke these authorized access, one app at a time.

To do that, you can visit this page to look at apps that you have previously authorized access to. While you are at it, its time to clear apps that you no longer use by clicking x on the right side of the app.

Apps

You can also choose to delete all the app activities on your Facebook. Click on Remove if you agree with the action for the selected app.

Remove app

5. Remove Tagged Location

If you happen to be at a certain place with your friends and they tagged you in their Facebook status, alongisde their location info, this tagged location will show up in your Places page. If you don’t like the idea of letting your Facebook friends know where you’ve been, you can have this information removed.

Go to your Profile page and click on More > Places. If Places is not on the list, click on Manage Sections and tick Places then click Save.

Places

In the Places page, click on any tagged location your friend has previously tagged you, and click on the Sharing Option next to the posted date/time. Choose Report/Remove Tag… and tick on I want to untag myself then click Continue.

Report/Remove Tag

On another note, whenever you update a post on Facebook, your Facebook status will include the location you posted the update at. Before you publish that status, if you want the location info removed, click on the down arrow at the end and choose Change Location… from the menu. Next, click on x to remove your tagged location.

Remove Tagged Location

Author:

Nels Dzyre is a tech enthusiast from the age of dial-ups, an Android follower since we had Cupcake, and a gamer.

Advertisement

Comments are closed. Contact Us.